Character Names – Tay and Mishael

The story behind the names of my main characters from my current WIP began when I started working on my new novel a month or so ago. I had seen the name Tay and thought it was perfect for the girl. However, my guy character was a bit more problematic. I searched and searched for a name, but couldn’t find one that suited him. I had liked Mishael, but rejected it as not perfect for my character. Then, my online friends started up a roleplay, and I wanted to use my two new characters, so Mr. Nameless had to have a name. Remembering the name I’d rejected from a few days before, I decided to use it, and it’s stuck ever since. These names now have real characters behind them, and I’d thought I’d share them today. Feel free to use these names, but remember, they were mine first! 😉

Tay can be a guy or a girl’s name. It’s the name of the longest river in Scotland, and it can also be a nickname for the name Taylor. I’m using it as a girl’s name, and it’s Tay’s full name. I found the name just browsing my favorite name site, and as soon as I heard it, I knew it was perfect for my Tay. She’s protective and tough, but with a softer side that she doesn’t often show.

Like Tay, Mishael can be a guy or a girl’s name. I’m using it as a guy’s name. It’s actually a Biblical name from the Book of Daniel. Mishael is the name of one of the men that King Nebuchadnezzar threw into the fiery furnace. The name means, “Who is like God?” If it’s used as a girl’s name, it’s a variant of Michelle. My Mishael goes by Misha much more often than Mishael. I’ve been having lots of fun with him on the roleplay as he’s arrogant and has a bad temper, which makes for some very entertaining situations. 🙂

What do you think of these names? Would you use them for your characters? Comment below and let me know! 🙂

~ Kayla

5 thoughts on “Character Names – Tay and Mishael

  1. Wow, I found Mishael very interesting! Namely because my brother is called Michael, you see. I never knew it could be a girl’s name! I thought Michelle was the girl variation. Michael is derived from the Bible – Archangel Michael – and means ‘Who is like God?” too. I guess they’re all just variants of each other!

  2. Ah, I love arrogant characters. They’re so fun to write. 😛 I’m working on names for a new story idea, and I’m using themes for different sets of characters, e.g. the poor people’s names being derived from animals. I find that helpful, especially when looking for unusual names.

    • Arrogant characters are my favorite to write! They always get the best lines.
      I do that, too! In my other novel, each character’s name meant the thing they had power over. Bridgette means “fire” and my character Bridgette had power over fire. Snow of course had power over snow. 🙂

      • They’re awesome! I had to read a scene out loud in creative writing and one of my arrogant character’s lines made everyone laugh. 😛
        Bridgette means fire? That is so cool! *goes to find someone named Bridgette* Actually, one of my guy characters is named Conall, which means “wolf”. Fits him perfectly, and also fits my name theme for his social group.

Leave a Reply

