25 Questions about 2014

Wibbly, wobbly, timey, wimey. I know it’s the middle of February, and everyone finished their 2014 posts a month ago. Although I wish my excuse was as cool as flying around in the TARDIS and landing on the wrong date, I’m afraid my only excuse is that I totally forgot. I saw this tag a month ago on one of my favorite blogs, Curious Ramblings, wanted to do it, but completely and totally forgot about it until today. Hey, better late than never, right? 😉

1. What did you do in 2014 that you’d never done before?

I moved into a new home at the end of the year for the very first time!

2. Did you keep your 2014 New Year’s resolutions?

Actually, I did to a point! I finished one of the rough drafts I wanted to, pretty much read 4 books a month, and participated in three NaNoWriMos.

3. What countries/states did you visit? 

Let’s see, I visited Delaware last year, and that was about it! XD

4. What would you like in 2015 that you lacked in 2014?

A better writing schedule. I had trouble figuring out what was the right amount of writing I could get done a day and still have time to finish the other things I needed to get done.

5. What song/album will always remind you of 2014?

“Beautiful Times” by Owl City. I love the song so much, and I had it on repeat for weeks!

6. Did you move anywhere?

Yes, I did! I moved for the first time in my life, and it was an experience.

7. What was your biggest achievement of the year? 

Finishing four rough drafts this year and landing my first salchow in ice skating!

8. Compared to this time last year, are you … ?

I’m better at editing. Editing is a struggle for me, but I’ve slowly gotten better!

9. Did you suffer an illness or injury?

Well, I injured my knee October 2013, but I had surgery on my knee April of last year. It’s better now!

10. What was the best thing you bought?

I went to my local craft store, and in the clearance aisle, there were a ton of Copic and Prismacolor markers on sale cheap. They’re both really nice artist quality markers that are pricey, so they weren’t something I had a lot of. Anyway, I scooped them all up, and I now have a collection of nice markers! 😀

11. Where did most of your money go?

*thinks for a minute* Probably buying music. That or just the stuff I use on a daily basis.

12. What did you get really, really, really excited about?

Getting back on the ice for the first time in six months! I also was so excited for this year’s NaNoWriMo, which turned out to be a highlight of the year!

13.  What was the best concert you went to this year?

I didn’t go to a concert last year. I went to a Francesca Battistelli and a Chris August concert the year before, though! 🙂

14. What do you wish you’d done more of?

Editing! Even though I wrote a lot of rough drafts, I wish I’d spent more time editing them and turning them into second drafts.

15. What do you wish you’d done less?

Telling myself that my novel idea wasn’t good enough and stop writing it. I started several that I never finished because I told myself that.

16. What was your greatest music discovery?

I didn’t really discover any new artists, but I did discover lots of awesome songs, such as “Counting Stars,” “C’mon,” and “Home,” to name three of them. 🙂

17. How did you spend Christmas?
Eating and writing.

18. Who did you spend the most time on your phone with?

My best friend, Julia, and all my online friends from NaNoWriMo. 🙂

19. What was the best book you read?

The Maze Runner by James Dashner and The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins.

20. Did you fall in love in 2014?

 Well, not with any real people. Fictional characters on the other hand? Maybe a few. 😉

21. What did you want and not get?

I wanted to submit something to a publisher or perhaps self-publish something. That didn’t exactly happen last year.

22. What were your favorite films of the year that you saw in the theater?

I only saw two movies in the theater last year, and they were both great! How to Train Your Dragon 2 was fantastic. I cried when Stoick told Valka, “you are as beautiful as the day I lost you.” The Maze Runner was AMAZING. 😀

23. What did you do on your birthday and how old did you turn?

I went to see The Maze Runner on my birthday. I also went to this really cool art store that sells all these art supplies. My parents bought me the colored pencils I wanted and some pens, too. 🙂 As for my age? Ah, it’s a secret that I shall not tell. 😉

24. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
A TARDIS so I could visit any time or place! 😀

25. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2014.

I have two writing lessons I learned this year:

1. Revising/editing is hard work.

2. Pressure helps me to finish things.

How was your 2014? Anything special happen last year? Anything particularly good or bad especially related to writing? Tell me below in the comments!

Thanks for reading!

~ Kayla

Leave a Reply

