The Doctor and Thales – Part 2

Last week, I posted part 1 of my fanfiction where the Eleventh Doctor, and my OC, Arley, go on an adventure, meeting the Greek philosopher Thales. In part 1, the Doctor landed the TARDIS in the middle of a battlefield and Arley opened the door as Thales tumbled inside the TARDIS. This week we find out what happens! 🙂

“You really do know him!” I cried, staring at the two of them.

“Of course I do, Arley,” he protested, incredulous.

“You told me you knew Tesla! You didn’t know Tesla!” I rubbed the bruise on my arm, the result of our previous trip. “He tried to kill us with his death ray!”

“A minor misadventure,” the Doctor assured, turning to Thales. “How are you, my old friend?” He helped Thales up off the ground.

“As well as one might be expected in the middle of a battle,” he said, brushing off his white robe.

“Well, yes. That might put a damper on the day,” the Doctor said. “How’s your research coming?”

“Very well, thank you! I do believe that I have at last found what I’m looking for. My arche.”

“Good for you!” The Doctor smiled.

“His what?” I asked.

“The essential substance of life. Everything came from and is going to return to the water one day. It’s very exciting, young lady. You see- ”

The Doctor cut him off. “Yes, thank you, Thales.” To me, he whispered, “He’ll go on all day if you let him.”

In light of that knowledge, I thought it best to change the subject. “Who’s fighting?”

Thales sighed. “The Lydians versus the Medes. The fighting’s been going on for six years. Everyone’s tired of the war but still it goes on.”

“Wait a minute! I remember this from history class. Don’t you make a prediction about a solar eclipse or something?,” I said.

“Solar eclipse? Well, if that’s what you call it. The sky will go black soon.The moon’s shadow is going to cover up the sun.” Thales started gathering up his parchments.

I snatched a few of the sheets up. They were all written in ancient Greek. I handed them back to Thales who smiled gratefully. “All right, either of you two want to explain to me exactly how do you predict a solar eclipse?”

“Arley, you’re a Time Lord. You should know this by now! Let me show you something.” The Doctor yanked the scanner around and the TARDIS showed the moon passing in front of the sun.

“That’s great and all, but how do you predict a solar …” Before I could finish my question, the Doctor interrupted me, snatching up a jammy dodger he’d left lying around. “Imagine this is the moon,” he explained. “And this is the sun.” He held up his sonic screwdriver. “The moon’s shadow falls on the earth’s surface, blocking the sun. Boom! It becomes dark.” The Doctor made the jammy dodger pass in front of the glowing light of the sonic. “And it only happens when the moon is in a certain position…” he made the jammy dodger spin in circles around the sonic screwdriver and turned the light on and off, babbling on about orbits and planets and nebulas while skipping and waving the jammy dodger around.

“Does that make sense?” the Doctor stopped and looked at me.

“No, not really.” I sighed, confused.

“Good, because it’s nothing like that!” the Doctor assured me, taking a bite of the jammy dodger, and making a face. “The moon’s a bit stale.”

Part 3 will be up next week! Thanks for reading! 🙂

~ Kayla

One thought on “The Doctor and Thales – Part 2

Leave a Reply

