The Doctor and Thales – Part 5

This week is the last part of my Doctor and Thales fanfiction. 🙂 Last week, the Doctor explained to Thales how to predict a solar eclipse. Now, the Doctor and Arley finish up their adventure with Thales! 🙂

We let Thales out of the TARDIS, and then zipped forward through time to the Battle of Halys to meet up with Thales again, just in time to see the solar eclipse. We sat on the roof of the TARDIS, watching as the battlefield darkened.

After the solar eclipse ended, we stepped into the TARDIS, about to leave.

“Thank you for helping with my prediction. I couldn’t have done it without you,” Thales said.

“You’re welcome!” the Doctor replied.

“You’ll visit again sometime?” questioned Thales.

“We’ll try to visit again soon,” I told him.

“Oh, and Thales?” the Doctor poked his head out of the TARDIS. “Try going to Egypt. Or Babylon. Or Delphi. Travel a bit, won’t you?”

Thales nodded. “I’ll try that, Doctor! Good-bye!” With that, the TARDIS took off.

“So, what happened?” I asked.

“The battle was stopped,” the Doctor informed me. “Thales did it.”

I picked up a history book that was lying on one of the chairs. “Thales, father of Western Philosophy and founder of natural science,” I read off the chapter title, paging through. “It says that ‘Modern astronomy has confirmed that the umbral shadow of a total eclipse passed over the battleground during the Battle of Halys. So how did Thales of Miletus make such a stunningly accurate prediction more than 2,500 years ago? Scholars speculate, but we really do not know how he did it’.”

I looked up into the grinning face of the Doctor, and we both started laughing.

“What happened to Thales?” I asked finally.

“After the prediction? Oh you know, did what philosophers do. Thought about numbers – came up with five of the theorems listed in Euclid’s book, theorized about the earth and the stars, and all that philosophy stuff. He also went into the olive oil business. Good business, that!”

“I mean, what happened after that?” I said, the Doctor’s answer not quite satisfying my curiosity.

The Doctor thought for a moment. “Thales died in 546 B.C. after he travelled to Egypt, Babylon, Delphi, and a bunch of other places.” He looked up from what he was working on. “He might be the only person to actually have listened to me and taken my advice!”

I sighed, rolling my eyes at his comment about no one listening to him. I looked down and saw something yellow underneath the history book and picked it up.

“Do you remember that we were supposed to pick up Amy and Rory….last week,” I told him, handing him the note. “And you know Amy won’t forgive you if you’re late.”

“Exactly right! Off we go then!” the Doctor yanked on a lever. “GERONIMO!”

Thanks for reading! 🙂

~ Kayla

Leave a Reply

