Snow Day

Today, it’s snowing where I live! It’s been snowing since this morning. It’s so beautiful and magical, and our neighborhood looks a bit like an arctic tundra! It reminded me of this scene I just wrote in my novel, Snow. At this point, Snow has just returned home to Northolt after training with Finley, and now she’s a different girl. It was a fun scene to write, and it helped show the changing relationship between Finley and Snow. 🙂

I step out into the snow, my boots crunching down into it.

“Snow? Everything okay?” Finley looks up.

I cross my arms over my chest, not talking, just walking straight ahead.

“I guess things didn’t go well with your dad, did they?” Finley asks, jogging up beside me.

“They didn’t,” I sigh. “I’m going for a walk.”

“You want company?” Finley asks.

I look back at him, trying to decide if I want him to join me or not. I really want a moment alone to clear my thoughts.

“It’s okay if you don’t,” Finley assures quickly. “Really, it’s-“

I hold out my hand. “Come on. Let’s take a walk. I can show you around.”

Finley slips his hand into mine, and we walk in a comfortable silence towards the ridge above the town.

“Wow,” Finley whispers, looking over Northolt.

“This was always my favorite spot,” I say.

“It’s beautiful.” Finley smiles, looking over at me. “Just like you.”

I laugh a bit, trying to cover my embarrassment and then look down to hide the blush that’s coming over my cheeks.

“I’m just telling you the truth,” Finley says.

“Have you seen the aurora yet? Now that’s true beauty,” I say, quickly changing the subject off of me.

Finley shakes his head. “Not yet.”

“Oh, you’ve got to see it!” I tell him. “It’s stunning.”

Finley nods and brushes the snow off his hair. I smile, and drag him over to the frozen river, picking up a stone and chucking it at the ice. It skids along and stops, the river frozen solid. I grab Finley’s hand and pull him out onto the ice. He slips and almost falls, but quickly regains his balance. I laugh and run as best I can, sliding down on the smooth ice.

Finley chuckles and tries the same thing, grabbing my hand and yanking me with him. I laugh and skate down the ice. Just then the sky bursts out into a million different colors, lighting up the world around us like an evening rainbow. Finley smiles at me, his hair blue under the brilliant lights. I smile back, forgetting all about my troubles with my dad. It was worth it. I think, sliding down the ice, laughing and giggling with Finley in the brilliant, glittering snow. It was so worth it.

What is the weather like were you live? Is it snowing? Let me know in the comments below! 🙂

~ Kayla

2 thoughts on “Snow Day

Leave a Reply

