Quote of the Week

Today’s quote comes from Will Self, author of The Book of Dave. One thing I learned when I’m writing a rough draft is that I can’t reread what I wrote. I get discouraged when I find plot holes or when I feel like my writing doesn’t sound as good as it should. Then I end up deciding the whole idea is a waste and throw out my draft. So, I’ve learned never to reread until I start editing. That way, I can get the idea down and then start working on the problems that need to be fixed.

“Don’t look back until you’ve written an entire draft, just begin each day from the last sentence you wrote the preceding day. This prevents cringing feelings, and means you have a substantial body of work before you get down to the real work which is all in … the edit.” – Will Self

~ Kayla

Leave a Reply

