The Books I’ve Read Recently

*sad trombone plays* I’ve pretty much totally failed at keeping my goal. This past year I was trying to read 4 books a month, and lately I’ve been reading more like one or two books a month. My excuse? Recently, I’ve been going through reader’s block. I haven’t really wanted to read anything. Even with my reader’s block, I’ve still had some books to read for school, so I thought I’d share the books I’ve read in the past few months. 🙂

The Testing by Joelle Charbonneau

This book is about a girl named Cia who is chosen for the Testing, a test run by the government to decide whether to admit her to the university to help rebuild their broken world or to send her back to her colony. The story is pretty good, though it has its cliché YA dystopian moments. However, I still enjoyed it, and it had me on the edge of my seat.

The Bulletproof George Washington by David Barton

I read this book for school. It traces George Washington’s history through the French and Indian War to the Revolutionary War and how God protected him through it all.

The Deadliest Monster: A Christian Introduction to Worldviews by J.F. Baldwin

Baldwin compares two famous literary monsters, Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein and Robert Louis Stevenson’s Hyde, to the worldviews that we see in the world. I read this book for school as well. It was really interesting how Baldwin went through the comparisons and how the monsters so perfectly paralleled our different views of mankind.

The Heart of Darkness by Joseph Conrad

There are good, enjoyable classics…and there are some not so enjoyable classics. This was the not so enjoyable kind. Conrad’s writing style is so unclear most of the time, I had no idea what was going on, making it very hard to enjoy the novel. The Heart of Darkness is the story of a man named Marlow who experiences European Imperialism first hand in Africa as he travels down the Congo as a steamship captain.

Manga Shakespeare: Romeo and Juliet adapted by Richard Appignanesi and illustrated by Sonia Leong

This series combines two of my favorite things, Shakespeare and manga, into one awesome combo. The dialogue in the novel is almost exact to the original Shakespearian play. I already read Romeo and Juliet a few years ago for school, so this read-through was just for fun. Even though I knew what happened, I couldn’t put the book down. The manga illustrations made it even better, bringing the play to life in a whole new way!

Jane Austen’s Northanger Abbey (Marvel Classics) by Nancy Butler

When I saw this book at my library, I had to get it after I realized that it was by Marvel. I knew it was going to be fantastic, and I wasn’t disappointed. My biggest problem with Jane Austen is the fact that I never have any clue who’s talking. Since it was in graphic novel form, I could finally understand exactly who was saying what, making the story even more enjoyable! Northanger Abbey tells of Catherine Morland, who longs to be like a heroine in one of her Gothic novels. Her chance comes when she travels with her neighbors, the Allens, to the city of Bath and meets Henry Tilney.

The Aeneid by Virgil

This is the classic story of Aeneas and his search for his destined land of Rome. I read this one for school, and just like with the Odyssey and the Iliad, I really enjoyed it.

Have you read any of these books? What did you think of them? Any advice for getting over reader’s block? Comment below and let me know! 🙂

~ Kayla

3 thoughts on “The Books I’ve Read Recently

Leave a Reply

