Quote of the Week

This week’s quote comes from Janet Fitch, author of White Oleander. I’m coming close to wrapping up my current WIP, so I’ve started working on my characters for my next idea. This includes creating that inciting incident that gets my MC into trouble and directs the rest of the plot.

“When in doubt, make trouble for your character. Don’t let her stand on the edge of the pool, dipping her toe. Come up behind her and give her a good hard shove. That’s my advice to you now. Make trouble for your character. In life we try to avoid trouble. We chew on our choices endlessly. We go to shrinks, we talk to our friends. In fiction, this is deadly. Protagonists need to screw up, act impulsively, have enemies, and get into TROUBLE.” – Janet Fitch

~ Kayla

Leave a Reply

