Monthly Link Share – Breaking Bottles

It’s been a while since I’ve done one of these! Today I’m changing that by sharing some links that I’ve found useful and entertaining this month. 🙂

I’ve always struggled with describing characters beyond their hair and eye color, and this article explains how to do it!

http://jodyhedlund.blogspot.com/2014/09/describing-characters-moving-beyond.html

In my current WIP, my character Misha has quite the temper, and somehow, he always ends up in a fight. I’ve had to learn a lot about fight scenes, and this blog post offers some great tips.

https://lisavoisin.wordpress.com/2012/10/05/fiction-friday-8-things-writers-forget-when-writing-fight-scenes/

There is a scene in my current novel where my character’s hair gets cut by a knife. I was curious to see if that could actually happen, and while doing some research, I stumbled upon this series of 3 blog posts where this lady tests whether or not someone can actually break a bottle, cut their hair with a knife, and destroy documents with fire in the real world. I’ve linked to the first episode which is whether or not you can actually smash a bottle.

http://tracynjorgensen.blogspot.com/2011/06/episode-1-breaking-bottles.html

All this talk about breaking bottles reminded me of one of my favorite YouTube videos. Breaking bottles hurts a lot, just ask these two bikers. 😉

In the past few weeks, mythical has become my new favorite word. Why? Well, if you’ve never heard of Rhett & Link, you’re missing out. They’re two best friends who make videos on YouTube full time. They have a daily talk show called Good Mythical Morning that will not only teach you a bunch of strange facts and help you discover if something will or won’t pizza, but also give you a brand new mythical way to start your day. One of my very favorite episodes of Good Mythical Morning is “The Ultimate Water Taste Test.” In fact, I loved it so much, I went out and bought two of the waters they tested in the episode, BLK water and Voss water (featured in the show after the show called Good Mythical More) to taste them for myself!

Thanks for clicking, watching, and reading! 🙂

~ Kayla

One thought on “Monthly Link Share – Breaking Bottles

Leave a Reply

