Character Names – Rani, Valo, and Zeno

On Tuesday, I mentioned that I named my main characters for my new novel idea. So today I thought I’d share those names. As always, feel free to use them, but remember, they were mine first. 😉

Rani is a Hindi girl’s name meaning “queen.” It is sometimes spelled “Ranee,” but I’m using the more traditional spelling for my main character. A few days ago, I was trying to think up names for her, and out of the blue, I thought of Rani. I don’t remember where I first heard it, but it ended up being a perfect fit!

Valo, a Finnish boy’s name, means either “man of the light” or just simply “light.” It’s also the name of a furniture brand, strangely enough! I found this name featured at the top of my favorite name site, nameberry.com. It had just the right, almost evil, sound to it that I wanted for my character!

Zeno is a Greek boy’s name that means “gift of Zeus”. The most famous Zeno is the philosopher Zeno of Elea, who was known for his puzzling paradoxes. I chose the name Zeno for my character because it matches his brother’s name, Valo, as they both have four letters and end in an “O.” In my story, Rani has to choose to marry either Valo or Zeno. However, Valo is a sociopath and Zeno refuses to speak to anyone, which makes Rani’s choice extra hard. My “love triangle” fits into a much bigger plot, but I haven’t worked out all the details yet. 🙂

What do you think of these names? Would you use them for your characters? Let me know in the comments below! 🙂

Thanks for reading!

~ Kayla

Leave a Reply

