My Most Commonly Used Phrases

A while ago, I remember seeing an article about how a forensic linguist figured out the true author of the book The Cuckoo’s Calling. It was supposedly written by Robert Galbraith, but this was just a penname used by the real author, J.K. Rowling. The linguist figured out the book’s true author by analyzing the most commonly used words and phrases and comparing them to other authors’ works. The Cuckoo’s Calling matched closest with Rowling’s writing.

I also saw a chart comparing the most commonly used sentences, adjectives, and adverbs in The Hunger Games, Twilight, and Harry Potter, which showed how different the three authors’ styles really were. After reading about all this textual analysis, I started to wonder, “What are my most commonly used phrases?” So, I decided to figure it out!

I found this free text analyzer online and copy and pasted my novel, Snow, into it and ran the program. My 5 most commonly used phrases were:

1. I cross my arms over my chest.

2. I feel a sharp pain in my side.

3. I pull back the covers and climb into bed.

4. “I’m afraid you don’t have much of a choice.”

5. hide the blush that’s coming over my cheeks

In some ways, I was pleased that I had commonly used phrases. It showed me that I do have a certain style and voice in my writing. However, I know I’ll have to watch myself so I don’t overuse these phrases and make my writing sound repetitive.

Let me know what your most commonly used phrases are in the comments below! 🙂

Thanks for reading!

~ Kayla

One thought on “My Most Commonly Used Phrases

Leave a Reply

