Character Names – Era and Cedar

I only have 13 pages left of Snow, my novel, to edit! I’m currently working on the scene where Snow goes through her final test and, once she passes it, will take her place as a Katari. I have three minor characters who show up in this scene, and while I was editing it the other day, I remembered that I had forgotten to name them! I gave all my Katari characters names that mean whatever they have power over. For example, Bridgette is the name of the Irish goddess of fire, and my Bridgette has power over fire. So, it makes name hunting extra tricky, trying to find a name that means what I need it to mean. I thought I’d share the two names I eventually found for these characters. Feel free to use these names, but remember, I had them first! 😉

Era is an Albanian girl’s name. It comes from the word erë which means “wind.” In English, era is used more as a word that means a long span of time rather than a girl’s name. However, it used to be popular in the 1880s – 1930s. My character Era is a snooty Katari who irritates Snow by first asking if she likes Finley and then dragging Snow over to talk to Snow’s enemy, Bridgette.

Cedar is, of course, a type of tree. It’s also an English boy or girl’s name. I had a lot of fun creating my character Cedar. Most Kataris have power over something deadly, like electricity, fire, or storms. All except poor Cedar who has a the power to grow plants. I quite enjoyed the funny contrast of Snow, who’s considered quite deadly with her ice/snow powers, talking to the guy who can make roses grow. 🙂

What do you think of these names? Would you use them for a character? Let me know in the comments below! 🙂

~ Kayla

One thought on “Character Names – Era and Cedar

  1. I love this!!! I can’t wait to here more about these stories! I like finding names that are related to my characters, either their abilities, personalities, or something else. Conall means wolf, so I gave that to my tough guy and I named a side character Reen, which I made up, deriving it from evergreen, since she’s true and loyal. 😉

Leave a Reply

