First Words of my Novel

For the past couple weeks in my Weekly Writing Wrap-Ups, I’ve mentioned that I’ve been working on a new novel. So today, I thought I’d share some of that story with my readers. 🙂

I just started the book, so I haven’t worked out all of the details yet. However, I’ve decided that it’s a dystopian story of a girl named Rani. In Rani’s world, when someone turns 18, they take a test that measures where they would best fit into society. The top score is a 10 and when someone earns a 10 (which is very rare), they are sent to the royal city to be trained as the new leader. This snippet is from the very beginning of the novel when Rani wakes up after taking the test.

The first thing I see is a white ceiling. I’m trying to clear my vision when I feel a sharp pain on the side of my head, and then hear a woman’s voice. “Hello, sweetheart.”

I glance over and see a lady in front of me, dressed in a white nurse’s uniform. “Hello,” I respond out of habit, noticing that my words are slurred. “I’m tired.”

“I’m sure you are. After all, you’ve just had a seven hour test.” The woman chuckles, pulling the sticky electrode off my neck.

Test? That’s right. Today’s my eighteenth birthday. Today I find out my score.

“You might feel a bit groggy and confused from the numbing agent they gave you.” She flashes me a sympathetic smile.

I nod a bit, my eyes feeling so heavy I can barely keep them open.

“Hey, honey. You can’t go to sleep right now,” she tells me. “Why don’t you sit up?”

I make several attempts and finally swing my legs off the table, and the nurse smiles at me again, encouraging me to continue. Sliding off the bed, I wince as my bare feet hit the cold floor. I have to hold onto the bed as my legs are unsteady.

“All right. You can go get changed and wait with the rest of your class. We’ll announce your score soon.”

I’m so tired it takes a few moments for her words to register. “Okay,” I finally say before stumbling out of the room to change.

Thanks for reading!

~ Kayla

3 thoughts on “First Words of my Novel

Leave a Reply

