Quick Book Review: Cleopatra Rules! The Amazing Life of the Original Teen Queen by Vicky Alvear Shecter

Cleopatra has always been a mysterious figure. Hollywood presented her as a beautiful temptress, while the Romans wrote about her as if she were the devil himself. Who the last Pharaoh of Egypt really was, however, has always been a bit of a mystery. In this book, Vicky Alvear Shecter strives to present the true life of Egypt’s teen queen.

20150608_174913

“Either way, you’ll get a more balanced look at Cleopatra the queen, the ruler, and mother of four. So on your knees, commoner. The last great queen of Egypt is about to take the stage!” – Introduction, pg. 8

What I Liked:

1. I love Ms. Shecter’s humorous writing style and the modern jokes she works in.

2. I like how she included pictures of actresses who had played Cleopatra.

3. It was so interesting, I read the whole book in just a few hours!

What I Didn’t Like:

1. It wasn’t a completely fair account (as it was biased towards Cleopatra), but then again, no history book is.

2. I already knew most of what the book had to say about Cleopatra. I would have liked it if it went a bit deeper.

Have you read this book? If so, what did you think of it? Do you have any recommendations for me? Let me know in the comments below. 🙂

~ Kayla

Leave a Reply

