Quick Book Review – As You Wish: Inconceivable Tales From the Making of The Princess Bride by Cary Elwes with Joe Layden

“Hello. My name is Inigo Montoya. You killed my father. Prepare to die!” “Inconceivable!” “Have fun storming the castle!” Today, The Princess Bride is one of the most beloved and quoted movies of all time. It wasn’t always this well-loved though. Cary Elwes, who played Westley, recounts the stories of its uncertain beginning, making the movie, and how it became the cult classic that it is today.  

As You Wish by Cary Elwes with Joe Layden

As You Wish by Cary Elwes with Joe Layden

“And, if they’d like to know a little bit more about how their favorite film was made, as seen through the eyes of a young actor who got much more than he bargained for, then all I can say is…As you wish.” – Introduction pg. 10

What I Liked:

1. I loved learning about what goes into auditioning and how an actor is chosen for casting.

2. One of my favorite stories was how Mr. Elwes broke his toe. You can actually see him favoring his foot in the movie.

3. The amount of training the actors went through to film “The Greatest Sword Fight in Modern Times” was very interesting. The actors actually performed the duel which was really cool!

4. I loved the pictures from the set that were included in the book.

5. The story behind the scene where Westley is knocked out by the hilt of Count Rugen’s sword was one of my favorites. Mr. Elwes was actually accidentally knocked out. He asked Christopher Guest, who played Count Rugen, to hit his head so he’d feel it and be able to time his fall, and it ended up being a little too hard!

6. Another one of my favorite stories was how frustrated the American director, Rob Reiner, was upon finding out that the English crew was allowed multiple “tea breaks” throughout the day.

What I Didn’t Like:

1. I wanted the book to be longer!

2. Now I’m compelled to rewatch the movie to find all the scenes I read about in the book. 😉

Have you read this book? If so, what did you think of it? Do you have any recommendations for me? Let me know in the comments below.

~ Kayla

Leave a Reply

