Quick Book Review – The Witch of Blackbird Pond by Elizabeth George Speare

Hey! I’m back. This week I finished two books, so I thought I’d review them both this week. 🙂

Island-raised Kit Tyler travels to the cold and bleak shores of America to live with her Puritan aunt and uncle. As she tries to adjust to her new life and fit in, she’s met with suspicion and distrust. Elizabeth George Speare’s classic Newberry Award Winning novel is the story of a girl torn from her home and thrust into Puritan New England during the time of the witch trials.

The Witch of Blackbird Pond

The Witch of Blackbird Pond

“‘I am Katherine Tyler,’ she answered forthrightly. ‘I am on the way to Wethersfield to live with my aunt, Mistress Wood.'” – Chapter I, pg. 10

What I Liked:

1. Kit was a great main character. She made mistakes, had flaws, and yet stayed likeable and understandable.

2. I liked her growing love of Nat. It was an interesting romance since he was a minor character and popped in and out of the story.

3. Kit’s kindness to Hannah was admirable. I liked how she didn’t abandon her friend even when others were running her out of town.

4. Having Kit from the island of Barbados was an interesting and different twist on the story. I liked how the author used the setting to show how badly Kit didn’t fit in (she was from a warm island travelling to cold New England).

What I Didn’t Like:

1. The book wasn’t completely correct. Not all Puritans were as repressive and joyless as the ones portrayed in the book.

2. Judith really annoyed me because she was so oblivious to her sister Mercy’s feelings.

3. I hated not really knowing what happened to Hannah. She went to live with Nat’s grandmother, but Kit never saw her again.

Have you read this book? If so, what did you think of it? Do you have any recommendations for me? Let me know in the comments below.

~ Kayla

Leave a Reply

