Character Interview – Rowan

For a few months now, I’ve been working on a modern-day retelling of Romeo and Juliet. As most of my readers know I typically write dystopian, so this is a bit of a change for me! I figure skate, and I’ve always wanted to try writing a skating story. As there’s a huge rivalry that exists between hockey players and figure skaters, I thought a retelling of Romeo and Juliet would be fitting. So, today I’m interviewing my POV character and the story’s Romeo, Rowan. 🙂

What is your name?

My name’s Rowan Edward McClarin. The Edward part is from my grandfather on my dad’s side. He was a hockey coach, which shouldn’t come as that big of a surprise since my family is a hockey family.

So, do you play hockey?

Yep! I’ve been on a hockey team since I was 5, but I started skating when I was 3. Now, I play center, and I’m one of the top players on my team.

Have you ever injured yourself playing hockey?

Actually, no, other than a few bruises and pulled muscles. I have broken a bone before and that was figure skating. Just to clarify, I don’t figure skate. I tried to impress a girl at my rink by copying her jump, and it ended up being a bit out of my skill range. So, I fell on my arm, broke it and knocked myself out. She had to call 911 for me, actually. But I’m okay now!

What do you want to be when you grow up?

Well, obviously, it’s going to have something to do with hockey. My dad almost made it into the NHL, and he wants me to make it in. So, I want to play hockey professionally and then maybe coach after that. Right now, Dad’s focusing on getting me a college scholarship for hockey.

What college do you want to go to?

I guess whatever one will take me. I’m not really “into” school. I’d much rather shoot pucks at the rink than study.

Where are you from?

I’m from Pennsylvania. It’s kind of a small town in the Lancaster area. I like it. We’ve got some great ice cream!

How old are you?

I’m 17. I’ll be 18 in March.

Do you have any siblings?

Yes, I have one older sister named Rebecca. Everyone just calls her Becca, though. She’s crazy. Becca’s in college right now, and she wants to be an actress and study Shakespeare. She’s constantly walking around the house practicing her lines and even drags me into it, making me read parts. It drives me crazy. I hate having a sister sometimes.

Who are your parents?

My parents are Peter and Diane McClarin. My mom is a teacher at the elementary school, and my Dad now works as an accountant. He also helps coach the younger boy’s hockey team at our rink.

Do you go to school?

Well, I’ll be graduated soon. But right now, yes, I’m in high school.

What is your favorite subject in school?

Is none of it an answer? I guess if I had to pick, I’d probably say science. I’m not half-bad at it.

What do you like to do in your free time?

Well, when I’m not practicing hockey or with my team, I’m usually hanging out with my girlfriend.

You have a girlfriend?

Yes, I do…kind of. It’s complicated. I don’t think we’ve really decided if we’re together yet. She didn’t get mad at me when I called her my girlfriend at the game last week, so I suppose she is. Anyway, her name is Lacy Capra, and she’s a figure skater at my rink.

How did you two meet?

Well, see, I was lacing up for hockey practice, and saw her on the bench across from me. I wanted to get her attention and so, I, uh, stole her shoe.

You stole her shoe?

Yesssssss. I wouldn’t recommend it. She wasn’t exactly pleased with me. I guess it ended up working out though.

Do you have a best friend?

Yep, Hunter. He’s the smallest guy on the team, but he’s still one of our best defensemen.

What are your favorite books?

Books? I don’t read much. That’s more a question for my sister. Becca would go on for hours about her favorite books and at least half of them would be Shakespeare plays.

What is your favorite food?

Pizza, of course. C’mon, what else were you expecting?

What kind of music do you like?

I listen to the radio a lot. You should ask Becca. She listens to death metal and opera. Told you she’s crazy.

Do you have any nicknames?

Not ones my parents gave me or anything. My girlfriend, Lacy, has one. It wasn’t exactly her idea either. See, I was trying to impress her and told her that I was the Romeo to her Juliet. I started calling her Juliet and it just sort of stuck. I call her Jules, too. So, now she occasionally calls me Romeo, though she uses Rowan way more.

Thanks for reading!

~ Kayla

One thought on “Character Interview – Rowan

  1. Pingback: Character Interview – Lacy | Concerning Writing

Leave a Reply

