Quick Book Review – Gideon the Cutpurse by Linda Buckley-Archer

Peter Schock and Kate Dyer have a problem. Thanks to a mix-up in Kate’s father’s lab, they’re stuck in 1763, and the only way they can travel home has fallen into the hands of a ruthless criminal named the Tar Man. While hiding from the Tar Man, they meet Gideon the Cutpurse, who promises the two that he will help them get home no matter what.

Gideon the Cutpurse by Linda Barkley-Archer

Gideon the Cutpurse by Linda Buckley-Archer

“Find me at the Black Lion Tavern in Covent Garden if you want to see your infernal machine again – and if you have any sense, don’t come empty-handed. Ask for Blueskin, though many do call me Tar Man.” – Chapter Three, “The Three-Cornered Hat,” pg. 27

What I Liked:

1. The story was very original. I was honestly surprised by the ending!

2. The way the kids went back in time was as believable as time travel can be. I loved the fact that they could appear for brief periods in the 21st century before being pulled back. I’ve never seen time travel done like that.

3. The cover is really cool. There’s a cut out section that’s supposed to look ripped and you can see an eye through it.

What I Didn’t Like:

1. I wasn’t a huge fan of this book. I did finish it, but I’ve been reading it on and off for several weeks now. I wasn’t crazy about Peter or Kate and really didn’t care what happened to them.

2. I HATED the fact that the author kept flipping the POV she was using. She’d be in Peter’s head most of the time, then randomly flip to Kate’s for a few sentences and then go back to Peter’s. That was really annoying and totally confused me.

3. I didn’t really like Gideon, the hero character, either. I’m not entirely sure what rubbed me the wrong way about him, but I would have liked him to be a stronger, more forceful character.

Have you read this book? If so, what did you think of it? Do you have any recommendations for me? Let me know in the comments below.

~ Kayla

Leave a Reply

