Character Interview – Lacy

Last week, I interviewed my POV character and my story’s Romeo, Rowan. If you want to read that interview and a bit more about my book (a modern day Shakespeare story), you can find that here. Today I’m interviewing my other main character and the Juliet of the story, Lacy. 🙂

What is your name?

My name is Lacy Katherine Capra. There’s no special story about my name. That is just the name my parents liked.

How old are you?

I’m 16, and I’ll be turning 17 in November.

Do you play any sports?

Yes, I’m a figure skater. I’ve been skating for about 5 years now, and I’m in Freestyle 5. I’m working on my axel and my camel spin.

Do you compete?

Yes, I do. I’m taking a test in a few weeks that will let me go to Regionals, which is the regional competition for figure skating.

Why did you start figure skating?

Mom wanted me to be in some sport. I did ballet for a few years and really hated it, so Mom pulled me out. Then, I told her I wanted to try figure skating. I really enjoyed it and kept skating.

What do you want to be when you grow up?

I’d like to be a figure skating coach, at least part time. If that doesn’t work out, I’d like to be a teacher. I’ve coached a friend of mine a bit, and I realize I really like teaching people.

Where are you from?

Well, I’m from Pennsylvania, around Lancaster. My dad was born in New York City, and he spends most of his time there working for his company. Mom is a lawyer and spends a lot of time in Pittsburg.

Who are your parents?

David and Andrea Capra. Dad doesn’t come around a lot, and whenever he does, Mom and he fight all the time. I don’t like it when they fight.

Do you have any siblings?

No, I don’t. It’s just me. It can get a little lonely since my parents are always gone, but I like having the house to myself. There is my cousin, Tyler, who’s a figure skater and skates at my rink. We end up spending a lot of time together since we live close by. He thinks he knows everything and tries to coach me on my figure skating, even though I’m two levels above him.

Do you go to school?

Yes, I’m in high school. I go to a private school.

What is your favorite subject in school?

I like English and science a lot. I like school, and I try to get good grades.

What do you like to do in your free time?

I’m usually skating or studying, so I don’t have a lot of free time. When I do, I’m usually with Rowan.

Is Rowan your best friend?

He’s…more my boyfriend than my best friend. We usually skate and hang out. I don’t have a lot of friends, and Rowan is fun to be around. He’s very sweet.

How did you two meet?

He stole my shoe when I was taking off my skates after my lesson. I was so angry I threatened to hurt him if he didn’t give me my shoe back.

Did you get your shoe back?

Yes, finally. He learned his lesson, and he doesn’t do that anymore.

What are your favorite books?

I like Sherlock Holmes, because those are fun to try and figure out before Holmes can. Mysteries are my favorite.

What is your favorite food?

Pineapple pizza. I don’t get it a lot, since my parents want me to eat super healthy. Rowan orders it for me when we hang out, though.

What kind of music do you like?

I like everything except for death metal or anything like that. I’ve been listening to “Begin Again” by Taylor Swift a lot recently.

Do you have any nicknames?

Well, Rowan likes to call me Juliet as in Romeo and Juliet. He told me that he was “Romeo” and I was “Juliet”. I think he finally stopped all that nonsense, but the nickname stuck. I don’t mind it as much as I used to. It sounds weird when he actually calls me Lacy.

Do you have any pets?

I have a white, fluffy cat that I named Watson for Dr. Watson in Sherlock Holmes. Watson is very fat, and he should probably go on a diet!

Thanks for reading!

~ Kayla

Leave a Reply

