Quick Book Review – The Mysterious Benedict Society and The Perilous Journey by Trenton Lee Stewart

Reynie, Kate, Sticky, and Constance are four gifted children who are part of the Benedict Society run by Mr. Benedict himself. When Mr. Benedict and his assistant, Number Two, go missing, it’s up to the four children to figure out where he’s being held before it’s too late.

The Mysterious Benedict Society and The Perilous Journey by Trenton Lee Stewart

The Mysterious Benedict Society and The Perilous Journey by Trenton Lee Stewart

“You have exactly four days to release this pigeon with the information I require. Be assured that if you attach any tracking devices to the bird, or make any attempt to follow it to its destination, I will know. Such treachery will not bode well for your friends.” – “Beyond the Glass or Windows for Mirrors”, pg. 49

What I Liked:

1. Even though this was a middle grade novel, I really enjoyed it. I didn’t expect to like it as much as I did.

2. All the characters were quirky and lots of fun. My personal favorite was Constance Contraire, the contrary super smart three-year-old. She was very funny and a very original character.

3. The riddles were hard enough to keep me guessing, and there were plenty of moments that I had no idea what was going to happen next.

4. The names of the characters were really clever. There were Jackson and Jillson, the Ten Men, Number Two, Constance Contraire, and Captain Noland.

What I Didn’t Like:

1. Some of the scenes were a bit corny or unbelievable, for example, when Kate’s falcon managed to find her on an island three days later.

2. This is actually the second book in the series, so when they referenced something from the first book, I was a little lost. However, that’s my own fault for not reading the first book first. 😉

3. I was a little confused as to what gifts Kate and Reynie had. That part wasn’t clear at all. Maybe that was revealed in the first book?

Have you read this book? If so, what did you think of it? Do you have any recommendations for me? Let me know in the comments below.

~ Kayla

2 thoughts on “Quick Book Review – The Mysterious Benedict Society and The Perilous Journey by Trenton Lee Stewart

Leave a Reply

