Quick Book Review – The Thief Lord by Cornelia Funke

Prosper and Bo are on the run from their cruel aunt and uncle. Living alone in Venice, they fall in with a gang of children led by a boy who calls himself the Thief Lord. Before they know it, they find themselves tangled up in a fantastic adventure that uncovers the Thief Lord’s greatest secret.

The Thief Lord by Cornelia Funke

The Thief Lord by Cornelia Funke

“Scipio, the Thief Lord. He liked to act grown-up, although he was not much older than Prosper, and a good bit smaller than Mosca – even in his high-heeled boots.” – Chapter 4, “The Thief Lord”, pg. 32

What I Liked:

1. This book was AMAZING. I read it all in one day, and I could barely put it down even to eat.

2. Scipio was the best. I loved his cocky arrogance and the more I found out about him, the more I loved him.

3. The story was really original. It had me on the edge of my seat the entire time, and the ending was a complete surprise.

4. One of my favorite things was the fact that Scipio never regretted his decision. (If you’ve read the book, you know what I’m talking about. But I don’t want to give it away for those who haven’t!)

5. I really loved the fact the story was set in modern day. I was expecting a typical historical fiction novel when I picked it up, and I was totally surprised when I found it was nothing like I imagined it would be!

What I Didn’t Like:

1. There’s no sequel. What happens to Scipio? D:

2. There’s a movie, but it’s nothing like the book. 😛

3. …really the book was amazing and I loved every moment of it. 😀

Have you read this book? If so, what did you think of it? Do you have any recommendations for me? Let me know in the comments below.

~ Kayla

2 thoughts on “Quick Book Review – The Thief Lord by Cornelia Funke

Leave a Reply

