Character Theme Songs

I think by now most of my readers know that I need music to write. Usually, I pick a movie soundtrack that fits my novel and listen to that. However, sometimes I get really bored listening to the same music over and over and over again. So, sometimes I like to change it up and listen to songs that remind me of my characters. Today I’m sharing 5 of the songs that are my character’s theme songs. 🙂

Mishael or Misha Hamilton from Rivergate – “Demons” by Imagine Dragons

Misha’s line is “Your eyes, they shine so bright/I wanna save that light/I can’t escape this now/Unless you show me how.” His biggest fear in my book is that he’ll hurt the girl he loves, Tay Harless, because of the dark past he’s trying to escape.

Tay Harless from Rivergate – “If I Die Young” by The Band Perry

My favorite part of this song for Tay is the line where it says, “there’s a boy here in town, says he’ll love me forever/Who would have thought forever could be severed by/the sharp knife of a short life, oh well?” Even though Misha says he’ll love her forever, Tay believes that one or both of them are going to die trying to escape from the town that they’re prisoners in.

Lacy or Juliet Capra from The Mixed Up Story of Romeo and Juliet – “Begin Again” by Taylor Swift

Lacy is supposed to be dating the “Paris” of my story, Payton, but is actually dating Rowan instead. Payton didn’t treat her well at all, and now Lacy is scared that Rowan will end up being the same way. This song really fits Juliet figuring out that Rowan isn’t like Payton and that he actually loves her.

Rowan McClarin from The Mixed Up Story of Romeo and Juliet – “Accidentally in Love” by Counting Crows

Rowan saw Lacy lacing up her figure skates at the end of his hockey lesson, and instantly fell for her looks. He wanted to take her out and impress his friends, and ended up “accidentally” falling in love with her.

Daxton or Dax from Fences – “Up All Night” by Owl City

Dax is my male MC who is imprisoned behind a fence for not taking the government-required pill. Bravery, my female MC, met Dax, and she became the thing that kept him sane even while in prison.

Do your characters have theme songs? If so, let me know in the comments below! 🙂

Thanks for reading!

~ Kayla

Leave a Reply

