Quick Book Review – Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Mare Barrow’s world is divided by the color of blood – the lowly Reds and the elite Silvers, whose superhuman powers keep the Reds in servitude. Mare was born Red and does what she can to help her family survive. Little does she know that she carries a secret that could completely change her life and the kingdom she lives in.

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

“Their blood is a threat, a warning, a promise. We are not the same and never will be.” – Chapter 1, pg. 9

What I Liked:

1. This book was fantastic. I adored it, and was hooked from the first page.

2. Mare was an awesome character who seemed so real. I loved her fierceness and determination to help her Red people.

3. Cal and Maven, the two Silver princes, were also great characters. I fell in love with Cal, then Maven, then got heartbroken by one prince and then the other.

4. The cover is amazing, and it caught my eyes right away with the crown dripping Red blood.

5. The story was really interesting and different. It was a mix between a dystopian and a fantasy novel, which are my two favorite genres!

What I Didn’t Like:

1. I have to wait until February to find out what happens! D:

2. I had to wait FOREVER for this book to come in at my local library. 😛

3. I think I annoyed everyone with my shouts of, “NOOOOO! MAVEN.” and “MARE, DON’T DO THAT.”

Have you read this book? If so, what did you think of it? Do you have any recommendations for me? Let me know in the comments below.

I’m almost finished my summer reading challenge! Only one more week to go. I’ve read about a book a week, which I didn’t think I could do. 😀 In addition to the books I’ve posted weekly, I’ve also read The Disappearing Spoon by Sam Kean, The Last of the Mohicans by James Fenimore Cooper, and The Autobiography of Benjamin Franklin. 

~ Kayla

Leave a Reply

