Quick Book Review – Uglies by Scott Westerfeld

First off, I’d like to apologize for not posting last week! I caught a cold and wasn’t feeling up to doing much of anything, so I decided to rest up and feel better. 🙂 Secondly, this is the last book I’m posting for my summer reading challenge. I’ve really enjoyed doing this reading challenge and throughout the year as I read, I’ll be posting more quick book reviews. 🙂

Tally is only three months away from turning 16 and pretty. In her world, when someone turns 16, they are turned from an ugly to a pretty and are then able to take their place in society. When Tally’s friend disappears, Tally must make a choice either to turn her friend in or stay ugly for the rest of her life.

Uglies by Scott Westerfeld

Uglies by Scott Westerfeld

“What could they do to her anyway? In three months she’d be a pretty herself.” – “New Pretty Town”, pg. 7

What I Liked:

1. I’d heard a lot about this book, and it lived up to all the good things I’d heard about it. I really enjoyed it.

2. I liked Tally, and I loved what the author did with the character and how he changed her.

3. The idea behind turning everyone pretty and a society built on that idea was really interesting. It was a world that I could see existing, and it had parallels to modern society’s pressure to look a certain way.

4. I need one of those hoverboards that Tally has. Those were super cool.

5. I was totally not expecting the ending! I can’t wait to see what happens in the next book.

What I Didn’t Like:

1. The story definitely didn’t grab me right away. It took a bit to get into it.

2. I thought Shay and Tally acted a lot younger than they actually were supposed to be.

Have you read this book? If so, what did you think of it? Do you have any recommendations for me? Let me know in the comments below.

~ Kayla

Leave a Reply

