Quick Book Review – Percy Jackson’s Greek Heroes by Rick Riordan

If you’re looking for advice on how to deal with evil snake-haired ladies named Medusa, singing severed heads, or a super sheep, look no further than modern-day hero and demigod, Percy Jackson. In this guide, Percy will tell you exactly why being a hero sucked with his retelling of 12 accounts of ancient Greek heroes.

Percy Jackson's Greek Heroes by Rick Riordan

Percy Jackson’s Greek Heroes by Rick Riordan

“We’re going back about four thousand years to decapitate monsters, save some kingdoms, shoot a few gods in the butt, raid the Underworld, and steal loot from evil people. Then, for dessert, we’ll die tragic deaths. Ready? Sweet. Let’s do this.” – “Introduction”, pg. ix

What I Liked:

1. Starting with the obvious, the cover and illustrations in this book were amazing. They were in full color, incredibly detailed, and gorgeous.

2. Percy Jacksons’s narrative style was what really made this book so amazing. His snarky and sarcastic comments had me laughing so hard I had to stop reading, catch my breath, and then dive back into it. It also made the myths and stories extremely memorable, and that helped me to remember them way after I had finished the book.

3. I learned a ton. I knew most of the Greek myths, but this really helped to cement the stories in my mind and be able to recall the details of a story.

4. I’ve read the other books in the Percy Jackson series, and I loved all the inside jokes added into the stories. It made it even funnier, if that’s possible.

What I Didn’t Like:

1. I will be forever calling King Eurystheus, for whom Hercules performed the 12 labors, High King Hide-in-Pot instead of his proper Greek name.

2. I enjoyed the book so much (I had borrowed it from the library to read) that I had to go out and buy it.

Have you read this book? If so, what did you think of it? Do you have any recommendations for me? Let me know in the comments below.

~ Kayla

Leave a Reply

