Character Names – Angelyn and Addison

About a month ago, I shared my main characters’ names, Ella and Brennan, from my NaNoWriMo novel, Ella’s Cinders. Today, I thought I’d share the names of my other two main characters, Ella’s mother and step-father. 🙂

Angelyn is an Greek girl’s name. It means “messenger of God” and more obviously, “angel.”

In my novel, Angelyn is the name of Ella’s mother. I chose the name because it sounded flowery and romantic, which fit Angelyn’s personality. She’s very romantic and caught up in her daydreams. She worked as a servant for Ella’s father, and they ended up falling in love and having Ella together. Everything seemed perfect until Angelyn discovered a secret about her lover that made her decide that she couldn’t raise Ella in his house. Angelyn ran away with Ella back to her hometown. She ended up marrying Addison Mal and having Ella’s two step-sisters. Angelyn also can’t form long-term memories, meaning that while she can remember what she’s doing at that moment, she can’t remember her own daughter’s name.

Addison is an English boy or girl’s name. It was originally a surname that meant “son of Adam.”

Addison Mal is Ella’s step-father. He loves his daughters, tolerates Angelyn, and despises Ella. He is a big, black-haired man, and he owns a bar and restaurant which he named Mal’s, after himself. Ella and he fight constantly, and he often leaves Ella with bruises.

What do you think of these two names? Would you use them on a character? Let me know in the comments below. 🙂

Thanks for reading!

~ Kayla

One thought on “Character Names – Angelyn and Addison

  1. I love Addison as a name, I might steal it for a novel in the future, if you don’t mind. Lol. Ella’s Cinder’s sounds amazing, and I hope I might be able to read it one day ^-^

    ~Rubix

Leave a Reply

